The University of Kansas

Recognizing the best of KU

Undergraduates’ achievements contribute to our mission

The achievements of these undergraduates have earned them grants and scholarships to pursue their studies and contribute to KU’s mission — educating leaders, building healthy communities, and making discoveries that change the world.

Goldwater Scholars receive up to $7,500 annually for undergraduate study in science, technology, engineering, or math.
Astronaut Scholarship recipients receive $10,000 to pursue scientific endeavors and help the United States retain its world leadership in technology.
Beckman Scholars receive a $21,000 stipend to participate in long-term research in chemistry or molecular biosciences. KU is one of 12 universities in the country chosen to participate.
Udall Scholars, chosen for their commitment to studying and protecting the environment, receive up to $5,000 for undergraduate study.
Truman Scholars receive up to $30,000 for graduate study and have opportunities to develop leadership skills and prepare for careers in public service.
Jessica van Loben Sels
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Received the Goldwater and Astronaut Scholarship
Aidan Dmitriev
Lakewood, New York
Lawrence, Kansas
Received the Beckman Scholarship
Jennifer Stern
Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Lawrence, Kansas
Received the Udall and Astronaut Scholarship
Ashlie Koehn
Environmental Studies, Economics, and Global & International Studies
Burns, Kansas
Received the Udall and Truman Scholarship
Bryce Tappan
Brookings, South Dakota
Received the Goldwater Scholarship
Michael Cory
Wichita, Kansas
Received the Beckman Scholarship